Week 12: Resources Online / Mid-year Self-Assessment Check

Week 1: Introduction and Start Blogging                                                                                Week one assignment was to introduce your-self and jump into blogging; this was my first time I ever posting a blog, I talked about my background, current position and projects, and my goal for participating in this POT.

Week 2: Teaching and Learning Online                                                                                   Week two I reflected on my questionnaire score of 13; things started to come together, how this POT course could really enhance understanding of online teaching. I was also encouraged and surprised by the number comments I received on my week two post.

Week 3: Pedagogy and Course Design I                                                                                        In week three things began for me to get very academic; I’m feeling like I’m back in school, I like the fact that I’m being challenged and engaged, and learning needed information about pedagogy and course design.

Week 4: Pedagogy and Course Design II                                                                                Week four was excitingly and a lot of work; I blog about a concept I had been working on for a technology enhanced classroom. Week four assignment help me develop my concept and structure it around pedagogy and course design.  This really opens my eyes as to how much work is involved in course development.

Week 5: The Online Syllabus                                                                                                    Week five focused was on online syllabus but also a lesson on proper syllabus development I thought. I began to see this course even more valuable for instructors teaching face-to-face classes.

Week 6: Internet Skills and Tools                                                                                             Week six I’m appreciating more and more how Pedagogy First! designed the progression of this course  intergrading the introduction of skills and tools needed for online instruction. Allowing us to explore and involving us in the online learning community.

Week 7: The Online Classroom                                                                                                    Week seven was a good exercise on building and fostering community in an online classroom and immersing us deeper to explore the usefulness of online learning communities.

Week 8: Creating Community                                                                                                  Week eight I’m struggling to get my bolgs posted early in the week, but I’m still engaged, reading and viewing all assigned material.

Week 9: Student Activities                                                                                                                I found week nine a really good lesion and enjoyed reading the article “Three Generations of Distance Education”. I summarized teaching activities   and strategies   discussed  in  K&R  chapter7, and using Les Pang’s approach for a reflective blogging activity talked about on P197 K&R; I did a  “Reflective Learning Journal Post” for Pedagogy First! Week 9.

 Week 10: Open Platforms for Teaching and Learning                                                                      Week ten I outline from  Ruth Reynard, Avoiding the 5 Most Common Mistakes in Using Blogs with Studentsand gave an example of what I thought was an excellent use of a  blogging assignment, using Les Pang’s approach for a reflective blogging activity it comprised all of the elements for a successful learning outcome by fulfilling the following  “Avoiding the 5 Most Common Mistakes in Using Blogs with Students”

Week 11: Class Resources and Intellectual Property                                                                      I found  Ko and Rossen Chapter 8 an important and very good resource for copyright concerns not just for online but if you’re teaching in any arena or publishing and using your own material online. I outlined three related issues of significance to online instructors.

This course has been a wonderfully experience increasing my knowledge tremendously, enhancing my understanding of the online classroom and my role as a instructional technology integrator/ developer   and support person. I have been able to use my newly acquired knowledge in real-time, and I’m currently in position to move into a new role working with online curriculum developers; this came about partially because of my participation in this class.

This entry was posted in Week 12: Resources Online / Mid-year Self-Assessment Check. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 12: Resources Online / Mid-year Self-Assessment Check

  1. Laura says:

    It was so great to read this: “I have been able to use my newly acquired knowledge in real-time, and I’m currently in position to move into a new role working with online curriculum developers; this came about partially because of my participation in this class.” Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

